Saturday Night Movies

30 03 2008

I’ve just finished watching 30 Days of Night and Planet Terror. 30 DoN is OK, decent scrip let down by emotionless performance by Josh Hartnett, but I really feel the need to rant for a while about Planet Terror.

I really can’t remember a watching a film where I’ve laughed quite so much. Robert Rodriguez’s contribution to the Grindhouse projet stands our as the best piece of parody cinema in a long, long time. With his tongue firmly lodged in his cheek, Rodriguez has built a film that both pays excellent homage to Troma era movies, whilst at the same time pointing an accusing finger at their trademark trash.

It’s not only the comedy elments that had me giggling. There’s plenty of cameos, out and out craziness and snappy dialogue to keep any fan of trashy moves happy.

I really can’t reccomend the film enough, even of it’s only to see Tom Savini go out the way he would have always wanted. Next is finding a copy of Death Proof and seeing how Tarantino’s effort measures up.

My one problem with the Grindhouse series is that I’ve not seen any sign of a boxed set of both films along with the trailers that were originally included when both films were shown together as intended. Allegedly there’s one directed by Rob Zombie, which I really need to see.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

