Barenaked Ladies

30 04 2007

My eMusic subscription refreshed today, so as well as downloading an Ex-Girl album I’d saved for later, thought I’d have a crack at last year’s Barenaked Ladies are Me after reading this article by one of their members.

The last thing I heard from these guys was One Week, and that was eight or nine years ago. I remember reading that they were releasing an album on MP3 and distributing it on USB thumb drives, which I thought was pretty cool. It also turns out that BNL are anti-DRM too. Why haven’t I been listening to them for longer!

The album is simply great, a cross between my usual vaguely-folkish-alterna-rock and Tom Petty. Apparently the album is a break from their more ‘zany’ previous albums, but there are some comedy tracks (like Bank Job, which you can play from the sidebar on the right, thanks to Sonific) slipped in. Well worth a download, or a hardcopy buy.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

