FF XII

21 02 2007

I’m bizarrely and feverishly excited by the new Final Fantasy.

Sure X was nothing to shout about and the last JRPG that I finished was FF IX in 2002, but the whole ethos behind the new game excites me. The thing about RPGs for me is the grind, often I find that the game gets in the way of the story; a bit of a strange sentiment, I admit.

Last week I finished Phoenix Wright 2 on the DS, which I loved dearly. I’ll concede that there is very little actual game in there, but the title is attractive in the same way that a comic is. In fact Phoenix Wright is comparable to reading a manga, just in a slightly different format. This is something that Hotel Dusk is attempting somewhat successfully, if my foray into the game is anything to go by.

We’ll see how XII goes, and deal with the inevitable disappointment when I get my paws on it.

Actions

Information

2 responses

5 03 2007
Kerri

What do you think of it?
I just picked it up and I love it!
The new battle system takes a lot of getting used to though, I still can’t decide whether I prefer the old ATB over this new system.

5 03 2007
Null

I’m actually really surprised. I thought that my initial excitement would have abated by now, but it’s maintaining my interest admirably.
I think that it’s the overhaul of the battle system that’s made it for me. Before I could see the reason people might enjoy the battle system, tactics and all. I turn the speed up to full and fly by the seat of my pants, relying on the gambits and the judicious use of quickenings and ethers, green magic be damned!

Leave a Reply

